CSEA 2010 Scholarship Recipients

Published on July 10, 2010, 10:34 am
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites 2 mins

The Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA), Unit 9200, employees of Westchester County, is proud to announce that sixteen (16) Scholarships have been awarded to High School Seniors for 2010.

Each $1,000.00 scholarship has been awarded to children of CSEA 9200 members. CSEA 9200 represents 3,800 dedicated municipal employees of Westchester County who work in all County departments. Annual Scholarship awards were initiated by Unit 9200 in 2007.

The recipients were honored at a ceremony, which was held at the CSEA Local 860 office building on June 8, 2010.  CSEA 9200 President Karen Pecora awarded the scholarships together with Hattie Adams, Committee Chair and the Scholarship Committee.   The CSEA 860 union office is located on 595 W. Hartsdale Ave, White Plains, NY 10607.

Each recipient was selected based on excellent school grades, essay submission and a letter of recommendation from school and business references. The Scholarship Committee has a difficult task in selecting from among the many applicants who all have excellent grades and submit very impressive essays and recommendation letters.  
Scholarship Award Winners (and college attending in Sept 2010)

01.  Chelsea Connolly – Child Psychology (accepted to 7 colleges)
02.  Chitra Panicker – Nursing (Penn State)
03.  Calvin Alunkal – Business management (NYU)
04.  Anit Philip – Pharmacy (St Johns)
05.  Jerin Kurien – Engineering (Drexel)
06.  Danielle Tavolacci – Music Educator (accepted to 4 colleges)
07.  Brian Doyle – Mechanical Engineer (Temple)
08.  Taylor Whittmore – Biologist (Stoney Brook)
09.  Nicole Costanzo – Italian Language Educator (Iona)
10.  Angel Gray – Psychology (Clark)
11.  Brianna Meikle – English Teacher (Temple)
12.  Olivia Gawrych – Pre med (University of Maryland)
13.  Eric Giancola – Criminal Justice (Westchester Community College)
14.  Julien Darmon – Foreign Language (University of Rochester)
15.  Stephanie Crotty – Author/Writer (accepted to several colleges)

President’s Award – Kofi Manu – Political Science (St Johns’ University)

CSEA is celebrating 100 years of service in 2010. Since it’s founding in 1910, CSEA represents nearly 300,000 municipal and private sector workers both in NY State and in all cities, towns, villages, school districts, library systems, and many private sector industries throughout New York. We have succeeded for a century because we care about making our state a better place to live, work and grow. Besides what we do on the job, we are also the backbone of the communities where we live, contributing in every conceivable way.


Jonas Bronck is the pseudonym under which we publish and manage the content and operations of The Bronx Daily.™ | Bronx.com - the largest daily news publication in the borough of "the" Bronx with over 1.5 million annual readers. Publishing under the alias Jonas Bronck is our humble way of paying tribute to the person, whose name lives on in the name of our beloved borough.