NYsoundCircuit Goes Digital At Mise-En_Place

Published on August 26, 2020, 1:48 pm
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites 5 mins

NYsoundCircuit (NYsC), the multimedia salon series, goes digital as part of the Mise-En_Place Acoustic+ Series in the age of CoViD-19.

NYsoundCircuit 8.1: “A Moment of Time” will feature Resonant Refractions (RR) under the direction of Ian Shafer, the resident sinfonietta, front, center and socially distanced at Mise-En_Place in Brooklyn, webcasted directly to you. Performances of works by Ana Paola Santillán Alcocer, George Crumb, Gilbert Galindo, David Reminick, Carlos Simon, David Jason Snow, and Eunseon Yu will be interspersed by brief videos from the composers and a short film by Miriam Aziz, “Ich sehe nicht die Stunde / I do not see the Hour (‘ORA’)”.

This event is free, but NYsC will accept donations of any amount during the show which will go toward the artists.

Save the date, tune in with friends here, donate as you can, and bring your favorite beverage to enjoy the NYsoundCircuit experience from the comfort of your home.

The Music: Widely performed throughout the Americas composer Ana Paola Santillán Alcocer’s “Mahābhūta” for flute, viola, and bass will receive its world premiere. The work explores the four great elements as sensorial typologies rather than material. A throwback, but nonetheless timeless, cellist Luis Mercado will give us his rendition of George Crumb’s “Sonata for Solo Cello” from 1955. Three works on the program exist due to the pandemic, and all look toward light in the world. “Let Us Bloom” by Gilbert Galindo explores the concepts of beauty, sentimentality, and lyricism in response to the anxiety, fear, and uncertainty of this year. Written for the Gabriela Lena Frank Music Academy in response to the CoViD-19 pandemic “Animals That Turn Into Other Animals” by David Reminick is a playful and capricious miniature for flute and trombone inspired by his son’s playtime with animal cards. Another work written for the same initiative, “stir crazy” by Carlos Simon brings us exciting, colorful, and virtuosic soundings for flute and violin. RR then coalesces to perform two larger ensemble works with Ian Shafer at the helm. Taking a cue from Stravinsky, David Jason Snow gives us “A Baker’s Tale”, a suite for 7 instruments and narrator about a very ambitious young baker who is passionate about croissants. Full of snazzy tunes and driving pulses, Eunseon Yu’s “Groove Exotique” will delight listeners. Both Snow’s and Yu’s works are NYsoundCircuit 2019 Call for Scores winners and will receive their second performance by Resonant Refractions.

The Film: We cannot get enough of Miriam Aziz’s short films, so we are presenting another one on this show. Shown between performances, you get to view “Ich sehe nicht die Stunde / I do not see the Hour (‘ORA’)”. A former judge disappears on her way to meet an old friend leaving only a letter and a collection of sketches behind. The letter has since evolved into a short story and the sketches have developed into a series of portraits. The question remains: what became of the woman?

All this takes place on Thursday, October, 08, 2020, 02:30 p.m. EST, live-streamed from Mise-En_Place in Greenpoint, Brooklyn.

Donations are accepted here. Tune in here.

Resonant Refractions is the newly formed resident sinfonietta of NYsoundCircuit under the direction of Ian Shafer. Members of RR on this performance are Jackie Traish, flute; Emmalie Tello, clarinet; Mason Adams, bassoon; Kevin Barnes, trumpet; Andrew Ennis, trombone; Adam Beard, percussion; Ann-Frances Rokosa, violin; Kyle Stalsberg, viola; Luis Mercado, ‘cello; Griffin Meinbresse, bass; Navida Stein, narrator.

Produced by Gilbert Galindo, Ryan MacGavin, and Ian Shafer, NYsoundCircuit is a multimedia salon series showcasing various arts disciplines and bringing their audiences together in an engaging environment for a full evening of works by contemporary artists. NYsoundCircuit brings you a continuous musical and visual experience of alternating live instrumentalists, singers, electronic music artists, visual artists, and more that are propulsive, engaging, and experimental. NYsoundCircuit is a sponsored project of Fractured Atlas, a non-profit arts service organization. Contributions for the charitable purposes of NYsoundCircuit must be made payable to “Fractured Atlas” only and are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.

For more information, please visit here.

Jonas Bronck is the pseudonym under which we publish and manage the content and operations of The Bronx Daily.™ | Bronx.com - the largest daily news publication in the borough of "the" Bronx with over 1.5 million annual readers. Publishing under the alias Jonas Bronck is our humble way of paying tribute to the person, whose name lives on in the name of our beloved borough.