DUA Available: Bronx & Other Counties

Published on September 15, 2011, 10:32 pm
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites 49 secs

Residents who are unemployed as a direct result of the recent flooding caused by Hurricane Irene and who live or work in Bronx, Kings, Queens or Richmond counties may now be eligible for weekly benefit payments under the Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program, state and federal officials announced today.

“The DUA program extends coverage to self-employed people, farm workers and others who have lost employment as a direct result of the disaster,” Andrew X. Feeney, state coordinating officer, said. “It is specifically designed to assist those who are otherwise ineligible for state unemployment benefits.”

The availability of this program was initiated by President Obama’s August 31 disaster declaration for parts of New York State and extends to those living or working in any of the 27 counties eligible for individual assistance. They are: Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester counties.

To apply for DUA, call the Telephone Claims Center (TCC) at 1-888-209-8124 or 1-877-358-5306 if you live out of state. Have your Social Security number, earnings from your most recent tax year and employment history available when you call. The deadline to apply for DUA in Bronx, Kings, Queens or Richmond counties is October 12, 2011.


Jonas Bronck is the pseudonym under which we publish and manage the content and operations of The Bronx Daily.™ | Bronx.com - the largest daily news publication in the borough of "the" Bronx with over 1.5 million annual readers. Publishing under the alias Jonas Bronck is our humble way of paying tribute to the person, whose name lives on in the name of our beloved borough.